The Art of Beautiful Note Taking

Every year I go to Flame University in Pune to conduct a workshop on Behavioral Finance. In the last workshop in July 2017, I spent three awesome days @ Flame engaging with participants who had come from all over India. Some came from overseas. My friend Saurabh Madaan came all the way from San Francisco to attend. He also took one of the sessions.

One of the participants, whom I have known for a while, sent me a copy of the notes he took during the workshop. I found them to be astonishingly beautiful. And so I asked him if I could publish them. Graciously, he accepted on the condition that his identity should be kept confidential. You can find some of notes here. I am not publishing all of them because some of the notes pertain to businesses…

The only other person I know who can write and draw like this is Vishal Khandelwal. Take at look at a few examples of his excellent drawing skills:

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

Example 4

This type of visual thinking and note taking ability is, in my view, a very powerful way to learn. Indeed, recently I talked about the subject of visual thinking at the OctoberQuest conference. Will publish a transcript soon.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Art of Beautiful Note Taking

  1. Thanks for the post. I found Abhijit Bhaduri (twtr @AbhijitBhaduri), best in the business. Check this sample https://twitter.com/AbhijitBhaduri/status/916178019554705408.

  2. wow. this guy is great. thought came to my mind that you should explore writing a book which he can illutrate. Sort of zen pencil of investing.

  3. mysticfuture says:

    U guys need to check out my friend Winston nornua @wstonez

    His sketches convey msg 100x more efficiently than my blogs.

  4. Ragu says:

    Thanks for sharing Sir… Thanks to the author for sharing the wisdom, I can feel the joy the author would have had in attending the workshop!

  5. […] The Art Of Beautiful Note Taking – Link here […]

  6. […] The Art Of Beautiful Note Taking – Link here […]

  7. […] I missed this in the initial part of my career and paid a huge price: The Art of taking Notes […]

Comments are closed.